MPlayer OSX Extended: Better alternative to VLC?

Posted: April 27, 2011 in 愚人谬语
Tags: , ,

VLC is always my first choice since I switched to MAC. VLC is good enough most of the time; however, It performs very poorly when playing my old RMVB videos, and it cannot display external subtitle file properly.

MPlayer OSX Extended is superb in this territory. Work like a charm!

PS: MPlayer OSX Extended is not the one in App Store. http://www.mplayerosx.ch/

Updated: I have switched to MPlayer OSX in the App Store. Extended stopped working suddenly and issues remains even after i restarted. So far, MPlayer OSX is quite ok. But when playing some full HD movies, VLC seems to have better preformance.

Comments
  1. […] VLC is always my first choice since I switched to MAC. VLC is good enough most of the time; however, It performs very poorly when playing my old RMVB videos, and it cannot display external subtitle file properly. MPlayer OSX Extended is superb in this territory. Work like a charm! PS: MPlayer OSX Extended is not the one in App Store. http://www.mplayerosx.ch/ … Read More […]

  2. MPlayerOSX Extended has a superior interface (unlike VLC’s separate controls window), and it doesn’t crash (VLC crashes often on my Mac for some odd reason, when I launch files). However, I don’t know how to set the volume to 100%. The slider shows no percentage.

Leave a Reply

